Craft community, Knitting

Craft swop

Back in the summer I took part in a ‘craft swop’ through the Creative Connections blog tour and a post by Sharon at the Old Button.

This is Sharon’s blog about the swop:

The Old Button Swop Number 1 – Pastelesta and Strombolitwo

I was delighted with my ‘pastel carrier’ case from Strombolitwo, so thoughtful and beautifully made.

image

Sharon asked us to provide a few words about ourselves for inspiration – and along with it being a winter theme this gave me lots of food for thought to get my creative ideas flowing.

Helen from Strombolitwo said:

“Love textures, natural & found; cats and wild critters, Islamic patterns, Istanbul and Italy, by the sea”

My first thought was something to do with cats, as I draw animals all the time, but art is quite a personal thing so I decided against this.

Then I looked online at Islamic patterns and had a play at combining a patterned window design with a cat silhouette – but I am not very neat and patterns need to be very precise (though was fun looking at all the pictures).

I decided that knitting was the way forward, and thought I would do something inspired by the sea.

I’ve always wanted to design my own pattern so was quite excited to find knitting graph paper online at printablepaper.net and set about charting a ‘wave’ pattern.

image

I choose two sea-like colours and started to knit the pattern into fingerless gloves.

Unfortunately, I had not tried and tested
image

the glove pattern and ran into trouble at the fingers where it seemed to stop making sense. The back of the knitting was also feeling a bit tight for gloves so I found a pattern that used textures as ‘waves’ and used a dark wintry sea green.

image

I’m pleased with how they turned out, but I will try the pattern chart again before too long.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Craft swop

Leave a Reply

