Craft community, Craft fairs

September…and thoughts turn to Christmas

The end of the summer holidays means Christmas is coming.
It might sound early, but in craft terms I’m leaving it until the last minute…

My sons (well two of them) have learnt to get in early and I’ve had their requests in. One wants a jumper, a thick, stripey one that I’ll have to find a pattern for, as well as some good value, yet good quality wool.
The other wants me to paint a scene from his favourite Ian M Banks book…quite a challenge…not just painting a sci-fi landscape, but also seeing where our imaginations collide!
My youngest is 14 and not excited at the prospect of my handmade gifts. There is time to change his mind!

I’ve also got a few craft fairs lined up.
The first is next weekend and I need to see if I can tweak my table set up to display my pictures and cards at different heights as I’ve heard this is more appealing.

I have another four before Christmas, two in November, two in December as well as the Christmas online craft fair,  craftfest which I love because it involves other crafters in promoting each other’s works. It’s a really good way to learn to promote yourself online as well as picking up sales.

My next job, as well as a couple of commissions, is to get some Christmas cards and gifts made.

I’ve been playing with ideas, but have lots more I need to experiment with/get right.

image

Maybe I will start a bit earlier next year, but as I only started Pastelesta in November last year, a week before my first ever craft fair I still have a lot to learn.
And whatever I make, Christmas carols are strictly forbidden until December 1st!

Standard

4 thoughts on “September…and thoughts turn to Christmas

  1. I love that your kids are “commissioning” you. That’s awesome. I’ve started making cards and thinking about what to make for family, but I guess I’d better start working on stuff.
    Oh, and I love the tattoo-like Cool Yule design. It’s so cool.

Leave a Reply

